Stay True

Recently I’ve found myself in a rut. Not enjoying work, not enjoying training, not enjoying life.

I was constantly looking for the working day to end and to the conclusion of my training session. I had nowhere to go, but I knew I didn’t want to be at work or in the gym.

The funny thing is, I had chosen to do these things – no one was holding a gun to my head.

I began to back track, and it dawned on me that the initial reason I had selected my current profession and hobby was because of; the happiness, the challenge, wanting to excel and better myself. So, what had changed?

External pressures and the goals I had set myself were imprisoning me. I was no longer putting the effort and quality into my work as I was too busy waiting for the end game and the accolades. In the gym, my focus had shifted from mastering lifts and slowly adding weight to the bar, to clouded thoughts regarding pending competitions and the fact I believed I wasn’t up to scratch or would embarrass myself.

At work, the words revenue, retention and profits had replaced optimal client wellbeing. My thought process had become muddled and the way I functioned was almost robotic and emotionless.

As I write this, I am beginning to climb out of the hazy woods of oppression and constraint (internal and external). I understand that it is difficult and demanding, though it is also enjoyable.

Ryan Doris’ recent video helped me to understand that we can’t allow the pressures of society dictate our lives. Forget them, work on the process and view you goals as a guide rather than a burden.

Do you.

“I’ve never looked at myself and said that I need to be a certain way to be around a certain sort of people. I’ve always wanted to stay true to myself, and I’ve managed to do that. People have to accept that.”

-Jay Z

By Andrew Cammarano

Leave a Reply

